cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Locked out of Zoom account

jimson8
Newcomer
Newcomer

I have a free Zoom account associated with my main Gmail address that I've been using for many years. Recently, I had a nasty phone crash that left me unable to access my old device. Thankfully, most of my data was backed up, but now I'm having trouble using Zoom. I had to reinstall the Zoom app on my new phone, and although I have my account's user name and password, I'm unable to get past 2FA, since I no longer have access to the codes in the authentication app I was previously using, nor can I find my backup recovery code.

I'm still thankfully logged in to Zoom through the desktop app on my laptop, but when I go to account settings there to try to turn off 2FA, it sends me to the website, and then I run into the same issue -- not being able to log in cause I can't get past 2FA -- so it's a catch-22. The only way I'm even able to post this message here is because I created a new, temporary account using a different email address to access the website (but it's an address I rarely use, so it's not feasible to keep using this account going forward).

On the webpage where I was unable to log in, it said I could contact customer support, but then on the customer support page, it said that technical support isn't available to free customers. The thing is, I'd consider paying to upgrade my account if it meant I'd get customer support to fix this, but there's no way I can even do that without being able to get past 2FA in the first place! So does that mean I'll never be able to use this account on my phone ever again??