cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pinned Video Not working. Only records in Speaker view.

Sonserae
Newcomer
Newcomer

I'm an art teacher and want to record my art classes. I have tried numerous times to record my camera pointed down at my artwork and even when I pin that view, it only records in Speaker Mode...which is always my head!! The customer support on this app is non-existent and I'm about to cancel my subscription and go with another service. I also use music in my classes and no matter what preferences I select, it mutes out all music on the sessions. 

5 REPLIES 5

MGSR
Community Moderator | Employee

Hello @Sonserae,

Welcome to the Zoom Community! We're glad to have you here.

I'm sorry for the difficulty you experienced.

Some recording layouts are possible with local recordings, some with cloud recordings, and some are possible for both.

In the case of local recordings, which are recorded to your computer, the captured content is based on how the participant who is recording sees the meeting. 

Cloud recordings are not based on any participant’s current view of the meeting but rather on the original host's cloud recording settings set before the meeting starts. These layouts are captured regardless of what views are used by the host, in contrast to local recordings. 

You may read more in this article.

If you need further assistance, please let us know.

Mark
Zoom Community Team
Have you heard of Zoom AI Companion?

Sonserae
Newcomer
Newcomer
 I log on first with my phone pointing down to the artwork. Then I add on my iPad which is a participant. I pin the phone on my iPad and it looks like the view is pinned on my phone and Ipad when recording. Then I look at the recorded video and my iPad view of my head is the only thing recorded. It doesn't make sense because the iPad is a "participant" and not the speaker view.

MGSR