cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

disabling computer sounds

mindovina
Newcomer
Newcomer

Is there any way to set up Zoom so that your audience can't hear your computer's audio?

I work with audio engineers who are looking for feedback on their music. To get around Zoom's overly compressed audio, we use third-party apps that allow my audience to stream songs from their computers and I can hear it in a web browser completely lossless.

The issue is that when I listen to it, Zoom seems to feed the audio from my computer back to my audience, causing it to sound doubled up. I should also add that my audience members are almost always sharing their screen when this happens too (not sure if that makes a difference).

Any ideas on how to fix that?

2 REPLIES 2

storyhub
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

I am an audio engineer and understand how complex audio can be to properly configure. FYI, you can turn off audio compression by using "original audio for musicians" and the audio can then be set to mono or stereo. Also, keep in mind that Zoom prefers audio sampling to be 48K instead of 44.1K. Personally I use OBS studio and NDI to feed audio to Zoom from various sources. I also use NDI to deliver broadcast quality audio and video simultaneously to multiple sites for large screen presentations of musical events. My system also has 6 sound cards that can be used to route audio.