cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strange voice distortion with external microphone

peterpur

Hello, 

I'm having a strange problem with an external microphone from Røde and Zoom (Meetings and Webinars).  My voice gets a somewhat robotic effect, it sounds a bit like i'm running it through a flange effect. This only happens when I use the Røde Mic, and it only happens on my M1 MacBook Pro.

I've tried »everything«:

- the microphone works well with other software, no distortion there

- the microphone works well with other computer, even with an iPad

- when i use the computer's built-in microphone, it sounds ok. 

- it only started this year; i've been using this microphone since 2022, and old recordings sound fine. 

- i've reset zoom, uninstalled and reinstalled zoom, tried different adapters (the microphone is USB-A, my computer has only USB-C)

- i've played around with the audio settings in Zoom, eg. using original sound, turned off automatic volume, fiddled with echo cancellation, etc. 

- i've used different audio outputs (usually headphones, but also no headphones) 

nothing helped. it feels as if there is some hidden setting or misconfiguration which i don't find, but since only Zoom is affected, it has to be something in or around Zoom. i've contacted our university's zoom-support, but they are at their wit's end. any ideas?

My configuration is a MacBook Pro M1, Røde NT-USB microphone, and AirPods Pro as headphones. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

peterpur

so, it seems i found the problem myself after even more fiddling around, and i'm leaving the solution here for other people who might have the same problem.