cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call forwarding on Poly phones / Call Queues

VktoriusWarrior
Listener

I am a new Zoom phone admin and we seem to be having some troubles with call forwarding. We are mostly using Poly vvx250 phones, but we have 2 receptionists that use vvx450s (pretty much the same thing).

The receptionists are used to accessing features from a physical phone and seem to be hesitant to use the zoom portal settings.
From a simple extension desk phone, I can use a soft key button to forward calls to another extension and any calls are forwarded fine regardless if it's an internal or external incoming phone call.

But if we try to replicate the same process on either of the receptionists phone, the phone calls are not getting forwarded. There is no notification on either phone of a call and neither phone will ring.
The only difference I can think of, is both of these reception phones are members of their own call queues.
I can't find any call queue settings that should affect the phone's forwarding process but I can't think of anything else that is different.
One work around is getting the receptionists to temporarily add another extension to the call queue; but I'm just not sure if they are up to that. It would be easier for them if the functionality on the physical phone worked properly.
Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

enielsen
Participant

With Zoom, you can only forward calls that are going directly to the user's extension by dialing that actual extension. If that extension is part of a call queue, shared line appearance, etc. - calls to those numbers can not be forwarded by the desk phone's built in forwarding as they are handled differently by Zoom.

Basically, I think zoom wants you to be using the Zoom app on your laptop and mobile phone to get the calls rather than use call forwarding.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

FORE-Craig
Community Champion | Customer