cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtual background stopped working

k31thw
Listener

I have just installed Ubuntu 22.04 on my PC, I previously used Ubuntu 20.04.

Since the OS upgrade, and reinstallation of the Zoom client, I can no longer use Virtual Background.

If I go to Settings and select Virtual Background I can see the images available (including some of my own that I added. Then nothing until the "I have a green screen" checkbox. This is actually new behaviour as earlier this morning it showed the colour of the green screen, although it wasn't green and clicking on the colour did nothing, i.e. I was not shown any colours to select.

Confusingly, if I select an image, I see that image as my background while in the Virtual Background menu option. However, when I go to the Video option, all I see as my background is my green screen. Returning to the Virtual Background option also only shows the green screen, not the background image I selected.

This used to work perfectly and the only difference is the new version of Ubuntu - and possibly a later version of the client; I'm running version 5.13.7 (683). Checking for updates states I am on the latest version.

Clicking the Virtual Background setting on my account appears to do nothing.

Any advice gratefully received.

Keith

9 REPLIES 9

k31thw
Listener

Just to say, I have uninstalled and reinstalled the Zoom client but that didn't fix it.

Based on lack of ideas, I guess I'm the only one with the problem 😞

joelp
Listener