cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtual background is still loading

caffeinatedbots
Attendee

I have been using virtual backgrounds without issue since March 2020, but in recent weeks I have sporadic issues with Zoom failing to work with any virtual backgrounds. When I turn on the camera, the feed stays black until a pop-up comes up saying that the virtual background is still loading and asking me to start video anyway or stop. I can not ever get the background to work.  Unplugging and reconnecting the webcam, changing ports on the dock, restarting Zoom don't work. Using the mic on the webcam never suffers any issues and works even when the feed is black while Zoom is apparently attempting to load the virtual background.  Once I click on "Use video" button and ignore the virtual background, the camera works without issue though obviously without the virtual background.

Setup is USB Logitech webcam attached via VAVA USB-C dock on 2019 Macbook Pro running macOS Big Sur 11.4. Zoom version is 5.7.6. 

Has anyone else encountered this or have ideas for fixes or workarounds? 

55 REPLIES 55

caffeinatedbots
Attendee

This issue is still persisting. Any ideas @Anonymous ?

Me as well, it fixed for a moment....then started again.

TURN OFF YOUR SECURITY SOFTWARE!

TriFit
Listener

I am having this exact same issue now. I may have accidently tried to use a video as a background. But the system is frozen. Any help out there? I am the host of a meeting that was supposed to begin 30 minutes ago!

dlcarraw
Listener

I have the same error message.

macOS Catalina 10.15.7. Zoom version is 5.7.3 (809).

I have the Blur background selected but have also seen this on custom backgrounds.

When I choose "use video" Zoom starts without a virtual background, but after a couple minutes the virtual background comes up.

zippity
Listener

Same problem, really annoying.  Virtual background never comes up, even after > 60 min meeting.

caffeinatedbots