cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help: Not recording the active speaker

dvscarr
Listener

When I record meetings, Zoom is only recording the video of the person who has joined the meeting, not my video. It used to switch back and forth depending on the active speaker, but now that has changed. I'm a coach and having both sides of the conversation is essential for my business. It will record both videos in Gallery Mode, but not Speaker Mode.

I have tried "See myself as active speaker," but that's an untenable solution. I need to see my client's facial expression while I am speaking to do my job, and it's very jarring/unpleasant to see myself speaking. 

Is this happening to anyone else? is there a known fix for it? If I don't get this fixed, I'll have to leave Zoom and find another solution because this is an essential part of my business. 

13 REPLIES 13

marcellcoppens
Listener

Check your Recording settings via your Zoom portal in Account Settings, Recording. Check if Record active speaker with shared screen is enabled. You can select multiple options too; Record active speaker, gallery view and shared screen separately is very useful if you want to compose a training video yourself afterwards. You can even Record a separate audio file of each participant if you want.

dvscarr
Listener

Unfortunately, those solutions aren't relevant to my situation. I already have Record active speaker with shared screen enabled. My problem is how it records the video when my screen is NOT shared. I do not want separate video files of the active speaker, gallery view, etc., as I do not want to create a training video after. Recording separate audio files also doesn't help me either. I need to be able to record both my client AND myself in the sessions.