cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Students using video loops

Strange_aeonss
Listener

Greetings,

I am a University Student TA and I have a question regarding the surging use of video looping in Zoom to make it seem as though students are paying attention with their cameras on. Is there a way to disallow video looping or altered backgrounds as a host? Thank you in advance!

5 REPLIES 5

EConnelly
Listener

I'll start this with the caveat that "all advice depends on the settings of your account" but there are a few options --

• There is an option to "allow video backgrounds".  Deselecting this removes this permission, which will remove the ability to use looping video backgrounds.
  • You can disable virtual backgrounds alltogether; the privacy blurred background still exists if there is a concern for user privacy.
  • You can also add custom backgrounds for your sessions - if users want to use virtual backgrounds how cool would it be to have a custom background with the date of the class and topic 😉 Canva is an easy app to use to make these and provides a number of premade templates.

You mention you are a TA. All of these options are in the host's extended settings on www.zoom.us so if the faculty you are working with set up the meeting their settings would need to be adjusted; if you are the owner of the meetings it is your settings.

All advice is YMMV - options may differ according to the settings in your account. If your account is provided by your university/company, contact your tech support for assistance.

DanHuber
Participant