cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I create a Private audio conversation between 2 attendees at a group meeting?

CdnZoomer
Listener

I've been using Zoom for several years for private and group meetings.  I'd like to hold education webinars using Zoom and I want to know if it's possible to set up this scenario:

I host a small group of 3 students in a Zoom meeting (I'm the 4th person). 

2 students begin working on a task - on-screen - using their webcams to show what they are doing. 

The third student is only an observer.  I am the host. 

While the 2 students are working on the task together - on-screen, I'd like to discuss (verbally) their progress with the third student who is the observer.  I want our audio conversation to NOT BE HEARD by the 2 students working on their task.

How do I make this happen?  Is this even possible? 

I do not want to use 'break out rooms' because I need all of us to remain in one "room" while the task is being completed.  Any advice and suggestions would be much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer

So I did a quick test, without the results I'd hoped for.  I have one of my assistant users (Zoom1) in a meeting with me, and when I click on them in my Contacts or Team Chat window, this is the menu I get:

Ray_Harwood_0-1692745199132.png

Obviously I don't want to invite them into a meeting... they're already there. All of the ones below Phone Call are not helpful.

The only option then is Phone Call.  Note that this assumes you have Zoom Phone; if you don't, you can certainly have a regular (outside of Zoom) phone call.