cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtual background is still loading

caffeinatedbots
Attendee

I have been using virtual backgrounds without issue since March 2020, but in recent weeks I have sporadic issues with Zoom failing to work with any virtual backgrounds. When I turn on the camera, the feed stays black until a pop-up comes up saying that the virtual background is still loading and asking me to start video anyway or stop. I can not ever get the background to work.  Unplugging and reconnecting the webcam, changing ports on the dock, restarting Zoom don't work. Using the mic on the webcam never suffers any issues and works even when the feed is black while Zoom is apparently attempting to load the virtual background.  Once I click on "Use video" button and ignore the virtual background, the camera works without issue though obviously without the virtual background.

Setup is USB Logitech webcam attached via VAVA USB-C dock on 2019 Macbook Pro running macOS Big Sur 11.4. Zoom version is 5.7.6. 

Has anyone else encountered this or have ideas for fixes or workarounds? 

56 REPLIES 56

You can try to do the same way I solved the problem, let me explain to you.

C:/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/Zoom. · Right-click on the data folder and click Delete.

Solve the video loading issue.

drbala
Listener

I found a reliable workaround for Windows, a bit tedious but video is back.

1. Start zoom, join a meeting, say Your personal room. If you're in this situation, Video will not come.

2. Go to Settings, Device Manager, Cameras. Right Click your Camera and Disable it. When a pop up comes on and says "You must restart", ignore it and Do not restart your computer.

3. Now, Right Click your Camera and Enable it.

4. Exit out of the meeting.

5. Get back into the meeting, and this time Video will work.