cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

multiple hosts

happyzoomer1
Listener

I own a zoom account. How can other people host meetings on my account without having access to my account information?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer

Thanks for the info, @happyzoomer1!  It always helps me to help you when I have some insight into the background for a request.

In your case, I'd recommend one of two things: the Host Key approach, or something I didn't really mention before... just don't have a Host!  I'll explain... (I've been wanting to give a full explanation of this - now's my opportunity!)

Setting Up the Meeting

With the Host Key approach, there is a special code you can give to trusted individuals that will let them "claim host", but there are a couple of prerequisites for this:

• You must turn off Waiting Room in the meeting setup.  (A Host can re-enable Waiting Room once the meeting is started; it just can't be set in the meeting settings.)
  • A consequence of no Waiting Room is that you will need to have a Passcode for your meeting.  This usually isn't a problem if the full Join URL is shared with intended participants.
  • The Meeting Option of Join before host must be enabled.  I recommend a setting of 15 minutes before start time; do not set it to Anytime, or someone can literally start this meeting by joining any time.

Here's screen shots of a test meeting I've set up:

Ray_Harwood_0-1670504246702.pngRay_Harwood_1-1670504336215.png

You can set the Join before host time to 5, 10, or 15... I just prefer 15 for those "early arrivers".

Finding the Host Key

Assuming your meeting (or meetings) is set like this, you then give anyone -- preferably only trusted people known to you -- your Host Key, which is located on your Profile page (at https://zoom.us/profile). Scroll down to see the light grey Meeting bar:

Ray_Harwood_8-1670505816076.png