cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about participants in basic plan

kblailock2
Listener

Hello! 

I am a tutor and just created a zoom account with the basic plan. I will have 5 students over the course of 5 hours, but only one student at a time. Will I have to upgrade my account or will this be fine with the basic account? I know there is a 40 minute time limit when there are multiple participants, but again there will be only 1 participant at a time but 5 participants over the course of an hour. There will also be no overlap, once the previous student leaves I then admit the next student from the waiting room

Please help 

3 REPLIES 3

wfh_withcoffee
Listener

Hi @kblailock2, so long as there is no overlap in students/attendance as you noted, your basic license will be sufficient. Good luck teaching class! 

Bort
Community Champion | Zoom Employee
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

Hi @kblailock2

While you will have only 1 other participant at any given time, Zoom counts each time someone joins as a participant. Thus, when your 2nd student joins the session, you would hit the 3 or more participants threshold and begin the 40 minute limit. What you can do is schedule each student a different meeting, and just end the previous student's session before starting the next. Alternatively, you could just one 1 meeting for each, just ending the session completely between each student to reset the participant counter. 

Hope that helps and please make sure to mark the solution as accepted if this information is what you needed.

wfh_withcoffee
Listener

To add some clarification from @Bort's response:

• While you will have only 1 other participant at any given time, Zoom counts each time someone joins as a participant.