cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Webinar Moderator Tips - Novice here needing advice!!!

MariaWags
Listener

Hi!

I am hosting a somewhat large webinar (125 participants) this Thursday and am a little nervous.

I've hosted just a handful of smaller ones.  Does anyone have any tips/advice?

One of my concerns is sharing my screen while being a host.  I've never done that in addition

to letting participants in and answering questions in the chat box.  I'd prefer my presenter share

their screen so I can focus on those other two tasks.  But my presenter may not be comfortable doing this.

Is there any advice about this? nAlso, is Canva the best slides presentation software when presenting on Zoom?

3 REPLIES 3

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer

@MariaWags – welcome to my world! As a solo Zoom event producer for the last 2 years, I’ve been there. That said, this is just my opinion, not a definitive answer.

• First of all – time is short, but practice, practice, practice. Open up a webinar, practice sharing screens, opening Participants and Chat, spotlighting speakers … everything. It’ll seem overwhelming at first, but you’ll get a comfort level soon enough.
  •  Next, offer to work with your presenters in advance, to help them understand hire to do their own Screen Sharing. This one step is the most important thing you can do to help ease your burden on Show Day. You can educate them and give them a comfort level that you can help them if they get stuck. You’ll also get more experienced at helping others under pressure.
  • Ask all presenters to send you a backup copy of their PowerPoint files in advance. I find a DropBox “File Request” URL works well for both me and my presenters. As files come in, move them to another folder, renamed as needed so they are easily distinguishable during the event.
  •  Be the voice of calm at all times. Do this under pressure, and all people will remember is how helpful you were.