Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zoom crashes my camera following 6.0.x updates

mrw20191
Newcomer
Newcomer

Hello,

I am running the Zoom silicon client on a Macbook Pro M3 Pro. I use an Anker PowerConf 200. Since updating to 6.0.x, I get the spinning beach ball and then encounter an error when I join a meeting about 95% of the time that says my background isn't loading, and do I want to continue. If I open the meeting using my default laptop camera, I get the same error when I try to change to my external camera.

I then get an error in a window saying that my mic won't work and everything freezes. I have to leave the meeting and try again, which sometimes works but not always. Sometimes I have to reboot. Sometimes I can get away with restarting my finder and killing the Zoom client.

This *only* happens in Zoom. It does not happen in Teams. It does not happen in Google Meet. It does not happen in Facetime. 

However, once it happens in Zoom, I have to restart my entire system to use my camera again in another app.

Thanks for any insight

4 REPLIES 4

YaBoiB
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

Hello @mrw20191

Are you by chance using portrait lighting? We did have a bug in regards to portrait lighting and M3 chips, and I believe that it was resolved in version 6.0.10. If not, I can look into why your issue is happening, but I will need you to submit a technical support ticket and provide me with the number. It should start with TSXXXXXX. 

Thanks

Brandon (he/him/his)
Zoom Community Champion
Have you heard of Zoom AI Companion?

@YaBoiB @The same thing happened today after double checking, updating, and ensuring Portrait Lighting is off.

whatever has happened, Zoom is the problem. I can have Teams meetings all day long with no issue, but if I fire up zoom my system flips out.

I have used that camera with zoom for 18 mos and it never happened before the Zoom upgrade. 

mrw20191
Newcomer
Newcomer