cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it necessary to have several licenses?

jameswilliam234
Listener

Hi,
This is my first time using Zoom. If you could give me some advice on how to proceed with the following requirements, I would greatly appreciate it:
An online tutor will teach a group of up to 12 students using Zoom.
Lessons last about an hour each.
The assignment takes 12 hours, one hour a day, over three weeks.
Five tutors will teach different groups (details above)
Zoom Basic is used by both tutors and students.
There will be a need for Screen Sharing, Breakout Rooms, Team Chat, and Whiteboarding for tutors.
I will upgrade to Zoom PRO.
Questions:
1. For each tutor, do I need to purchase a PRO license?
2. Also, does Zoom PRO need to be purchased by each participant (student)?
3.Even in a "Breakout Room", tutors should speak with students. Could that be done?
4. Can I cancel a tutor's license after they complete their assignment after three weeks, and ask for it again if and when needed?

2 REPLIES 2

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi, @jameswilliam234,

Welcome to Zoom!!  Thanks for your detailed question.

To allow your tutors to accomplish their tutoring sessions, each would require a Zoom Pro license.  If their sessions were limited to under 40 minutes each, you could possibly get by with Basic licenses, but I wouldn't recommend that in your case.

Answer 1: Yes, each tutor should have a Pro license.

A Zoom account is not necessarily required for attendees to meetings, but is recommended.  As long as attendees are just attending meetings and/or webinars scheduled by others, a Basic account (which is free) is all that is needed.

Answer 2: No, students do not require Pro accounts, but they should register with Zoom for a Basic (free) account.