What's New at Zoom? Join our upcoming webinar to get a first-hand look into some of our exciting new product and feature releases.

Register Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Audio mutes with piano playing

MJ3
Listener

I have a new HP Spectre x 360 laptop with an Intel core i7-1139OH processor, 512 GB Intel SSD +32 GB memory which runs on Windows 11. I am a music teacher. When I speak into the microphone, the sound is fine. But when I play the piano, the piano mutes. Specifically, when I play a note on the piano, the recipient hears a short thunk. If I play a scale or arpeggio, the following notes are totally silenced. No combination of settings for original sound, high-fidelity music mode, signal processing by Windows drivers and echo-cancellation has resolved this problem. I took the laptop to the Geek Squad and they reinstalled Windows 11. If I revert to my old  Dell computer running Windows 10, Zoom works fine. 

Any clues as to how to fix the problem in Windows 11?

9 REPLIES 9

Ray_Harwood
Note Taker

@MJ3 – audio can be affected by a number of things. It sounds to me like you’ve already hit in a few things, like Original Sound settings, which will normally fix the problem.

My first thought now is that your microphone might be one with a highly directional pick up zone, and when pointed properly to you for hearing your voice, it isn’t picking up your music – except for the louder initial attack of the note. Try pointing the microphone at your piano (toward the sound board - not the keys) and see if this picks up your music any better.