cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Audio mutes with piano playing

MJ3
Listener

I have a new HP Spectre x 360 laptop with an Intel core i7-1139OH processor, 512 GB Intel SSD +32 GB memory which runs on Windows 11. I am a music teacher. When I speak into the microphone, the sound is fine. But when I play the piano, the piano mutes. Specifically, when I play a note on the piano, the recipient hears a short thunk. If I play a scale or arpeggio, the following notes are totally silenced. No combination of settings for original sound, high-fidelity music mode, signal processing by Windows drivers and echo-cancellation has resolved this problem. I took the laptop to the Geek Squad and they reinstalled Windows 11. If I revert to my old  Dell computer running Windows 10, Zoom works fine. 

Any clues as to how to fix the problem in Windows 11?

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Welp, I figured it our for my case. Turns out all I had to do was come online and publicly complain  about it so that the answer would fall on my lap. There is a system app preinstalled by HP called B&O Audio Control. (This HP Pavilion system has Bang and Olufsen sound built in).

Upon discovering this app and opening it, I noted there is a "Noise Cancellation"  settings tab/section. I went there. Noise cancellation was enabled for the microphone array in this app. I turned it off. Problem solved. This apps settings is overriding any kind of noise suppression settings you might be setting in the Zoom app. Before turning off this setting the microphone test in the Zoom audio settings would not pickup the piano at all. Now it comes through crystal clear in the test so I'm assuming it will work fine in meetings too now. The B&O Noise Cancellation is very aggressive. Problem solved. So maybe not entirely a Zoom/Skype problem after all...don't know if you'd consider this a HP Software bug, Windows bug, or none of the above. But now it works as expected.

View solution in original post