cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

webinar participants and attendees invites and status switched?

deborah_zoomer
Listener

Can someone provide feedback on a situation I experienced recently, and to know whether this is a known problem with Zoom webinars or perhaps is due to user error on my part or others'. 

As a Market Researcher, I was the moderator of a set of 10 Zoom meetings streamed to a backroom via the Webinar function. I was supposed to be on camera, to share my screen, and to have a single participant be on camera as well, with a backroom full of several (8-ish) observers, the clients of the research project, observing but not visible to the participant. 

Our company's logistics team had set up the invites, sent them to the clients, participants, and me. I had accepted all the invites and they were in my Outlook calendar and Zoom calendar as expected. 

The instructions I received were to click on the meeting link in my Zoom calendar to get to a Practice Meeting where I would find the participant. Then I was to read the participant our consent information, get their verbal consent, and then and only then press Start Webinar in order to begin recording and allow the research clients to begin to observe via the back room. Then I'd start the interview. 

The first two sessions, I followed these instructions and everything worked as expected.

On the third session, when I joined the Practice Session, the participant wasn't there. I conferred with our logistics team. The person who had set up the invitations wasn't at her desk, and the other member of the team guessed that probably that other person had somehow sent the participant the wrong invitation. I told the client that we would reschedule, and we waited for the fourth session.