cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problems with webinar registration being at capacity but new attendees being allowed to register

Amiles
Newcomer
Newcomer

Hi I have a few problems with registration in webinars.

 

We have a capped 100 attendee event that has pre registration. The event is full.  Maybe only 60 of those who have registered attend the live event. So 10-15 minutes into the live webinar event multiple new attendees are joining that weren't on the registration report. Is this because not all of those who had registered prior to the event going live hadn't joined?  Does zoom think that 100 logins haven't occurred? I had assumed that each registered person received a unique link that couldn't be shared. I'm wondering if links are being shared and when the individual with the shared link tries to access the webinar they are redirected to a registration page and are allowed to register as not all of the original 100 attendees have signed into the event. I'm concerned about what happens if all 100 original registrants do want to join and the link has been shared.  Any help gratefully received. 

5 REPLIES 5

Rupert
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi @Amiles 

 

That is an interesting point.

 

First off - registered join links can be shared, but obviously should not be.

 

Generally, I believe, the attendee limit measures the accumulated joins during a meeting.

 

I am not sure how it handles the same actual user logging in twice (maybe a second time - after having been disconnected for example), vs. the same user logging in twice (maybe from two different devices at once), vs two (or more) users joining using another user's join link.

 

I imagine someone with Zoom like @Bort  may have the answer.

 

Certainly you can set your Registration limit to whatever you want - as there's an assumption not knowing how many will actually end up attending. 

 

Rupert 

 

 

Bort
Community Champion | Zoom Employee
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

Hi @Amiles 

@Rupert is correct that the in-meeting attendee limit is just measuring actual attendance. Zoom allows registrations to exceed the maximum allowed in the actual live session, as we cannot be sure that all will actually attend and would not want to artificially limit your meeting. 

Those late joins are possibly people who have been given someone else's unique join link or were just late registrants. If someone shared their unique join link, especially with multiple people, its easy to check by opening the participant panel and seeing if there are multiple attendees with the same name (this would also be reflected in the attendee report after the session). 

If someone gets the generic link or finds out the meeting ID directly and then tries to join, they will be redirected to the registration page, as they must join with a unique link provided after registration. 

Hope that helps, but let me know if you have any other questions. 

Thanks for your responses, very helpful.  I'm concerned that if all 100 of my pre registered attendees did want to join the session and someone had shared the link  it would lead to some of those who had 'officially registered' not being able  to access the session - if they join after those who shared the link.  Would this be the case?

 

Also, your point @Bort  re: If someone gets the generic link or finds out the meeting ID directly and then tries to join, they will be redirected to the registration page, as they must join with a unique link provided after registration. How does this work if all 100 places have been taken by preregistered attendees, although they may not attend,  surely there are no places left to be able to register, unless not all 100 have joined?

 

Rupert
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi @Amiles 

 

On the first point above - I believe the answer is Yes

 

On the second point - I believe that once registration is full, registration becomes closed - regardless of the current attendance in the Meeting.

Bort
Community Champion | Zoom Employee
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

1. Yes, we allow the first 100 participants in, regardless of if they are a unique participant or someone using a shared link. 

 

2. Registration will still be open and allow more to be approved to join, unless you've restricted the number of total registrants, which is possible in registration settings. Zoom cannot say for sure that the 100 participants in the session in the first 5 minutes will remain the entire time, so more would be allowed to register and attend if spots open up in the live session.