cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating Contact Groups

Alienduck
Listener

I am new to Zoom management, and I am not finding it very intuitive. I was able to upload our organization contacts to "personal contacts". However I do not see any means of organizing those contacts. What I would like to do is create contact lists (groups) for each of the organization's committees to make it easier to contact just those members when that committee is meeting. The goal is to create the groups that I and the other board members can use and manage. 

1 REPLY 1

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi there, @Alienduck,

I've been using Zoom Phone, Chat (now Team Chat), and the Contacts tab of the Zoom client now for over a year... and while it's way better now than it used to be -- I've come to accept that it's not a "contact management" platform.

If all of your company members (you mentioned "board") will have Zoom accounts or phones, you really don't have to import anything -- Zoom will include everyone who is on your Zoom account on the Company Contacts drop-down of your All Contacts menu:

Ray_Harwood_0-1669475441304.png

Under the My Contacts section, the Cloud Contacts section is populated with any linked contacts folder on the device on which you are running Zoom. 

Note that Zoom on your iPhone can be set to access your iPhone contacts, and that Zoom on a PC can be configured to access your Outlook contacts, but Zoom does not store this information in a Zoom database, hence your iPhone Zoom can't see your Outlook contacts.

If you begin to use the Zoom Team Chat feature as I have, you will collect additional contacts typically in the External section of My Contacts.  You can request anyone with a Zoom account be added to your External contacts by clicking the + sign and selecting Invite a Zoom Contact:

Ray_Harwood_1-1669475817983.png

You'll be presented with the following: