cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making Large Group Classes (Ensembles) Engaging and Productive.

Frodis
Listener

Here's my problem: I'm an instructor of a 'Medical English for Nurses' college class. There are roughly 45 students in a class. If the Zoom lesson were to be in a meeting manner where every participant were in there own space with their own camera/mic setup, all would be fine. The problem is, the students are divided between two very large lecture rooms and I am sequestered in a small office equipped with a notebook computer and headset. The lecture rooms are equipped with a large screen for the students to view, but only a notebook computer (computer and built-in mic) for output to me. It means, I can't make any use of breakout rooms and for the most part, I can neither see nor hear students with any clarity. It means I end up being a talking-head and their is no interaction. This is meant to be an interactive class. When I do pair-work or group-work, I am disconnected from the activity. I cannot monitor and mix with the students. When students respond to questions, more often than not, I have no idea who is responding nor really have any idea what their response was.

So, my question is, does anybody have some ideas wherein I can engage these classes in a manner in which I am not just lecturing to dead air?

This was really frustrating last year and is not conducive to having a productive lecture. The students, myself, and the college (who are responsible for the untenable setup) were wholly unsatisfied. I have been lecturing there for 20 years successfully, and now, due to Covid related restrictions am seeing it totally unravel.

What do you do when you present to a large audience in order to get feedback and interaction?

1 REPLY 1

Ohkawa
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi,  Frodis