cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Let participants choose room" with "Breakout Room pre-assign" -ed

Nopri
Listener

I've created a meeting with "Breakout Room pre-assign" enabled, with participants field is empty. My meetings is somewhat open, and it takes alot of effort to acquire email of said participants. I did this to avoid the hassle in creating in-meeting Breakout Room, because my meeting breakout room is quite alot.

 

When my meeting started, i (host/co-host) need to manually assign every participants to certain Breakout Room, with no "Let participants choose room" setting to be found.

 

Am i missing something or i failed to understand what "Breakout Room pre-assign" mean? Please help.

 

English is not my first language, pardon me if what i said is hard to understand.

Thank you.

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Rupert
Creator

Hi @Nopri 

 

I believe that when set pre-assign participants to breakout rooms, this is effectively the same as selecting Manual assignment - which prevents Let participants choose room.

 

If Participants join without having been pre-assigned, they will not be able to choose a breakout room themselves. They will indeed need to be manually assigned in the meeting.

 

You cannot change the Manual/Choose option once the Breakout Room are open. You would need to close them and re-open new ones.

 

https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/360032752671

 

https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/206476313-Managing-Breakout-Rooms

 

 

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Rupert
Creator

Hi @Nopri 

 

I believe that when set pre-assign participants to breakout rooms, this is effectively the same as selecting Manual assignment - which prevents Let participants choose room.

 

If Participants join without having been pre-assigned, they will not be able to choose a breakout room themselves. They will indeed need to be manually assigned in the meeting.

 

You cannot change the Manual/Choose option once the Breakout Room are open. You would need to close them and re-open new ones.

 

https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/360032752671

 

https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/206476313-Managing-Breakout-Rooms

 

 

That's great but the Auto Search part of the "Add Participants" text box isn't working for finding Internal Participants so I have to enter the full email address for internal participants just like I do for external participants. The time-savings is dripping away.

Nopri
Listener

Ah, i see. Thats what was i thought, sadly.

Thanks @Rupert  for the reply.