cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zoom no longer opening up Outlook on Windows to send meeting invitations

purplezoom
Listener

I've had the Zoom plugin for Outlook on Windows for the past year, and scheduling a meeting opened up Outlook to send the meeting invitation.  Now it opens up a "Sign in with Google" window with the message "Choose an account to continue to Zoom".

How do I get back to using my Outlook email?  The Zoom plugin is enabled in Outlook and I didn't change anything, but of course Outlook and Zoom get updated frequently and could have messed something up.

I tried uninstalling the Zoom plugin and re-installing but Windows tells me I need to be an administrator to do that, but I am an administrator.

How do I fix this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

purplezoom
Listener

It turns out that the problem is the the Zoom update for Windows changes the Calendar choice from Outlook to Google Calendar, as can be seen on the "Schedule meeting" dialog.  Unfortunately, the change is shown on the part of the dialog that is not visible, so unless you notice the thin scrollbar to the right and scroll down to the part of the dialog that is not shown initially you won't see that Zoom changed your previous selection. 

I found this on both computers on which I was testing.  Changing it back worked as it did previously. 

Of course Zoom needs to fix the updates so they no longer make this change, but it will not be trivial to undo this change for the many thousands who have already used the recent update.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

purplezoom
Listener

I figured out that the problem is caused by a recent Zoom upgrade. 

I have a laptop computer set up much like the desktop computer.  As I logged into Zoom, I initially declined to accept the update to version 5.12.8 (10232), with a display that also mentioned other updates I didn’t have, 5.12.7 and 5.12.6.  I created a meeting and it opened Outlook as usual.