What's New at Zoom? Join our upcoming webinar to get you a first-hand look into some of our exciting new product and feature releases.

Register Now
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wrong name of participants

MikeMucMikeMuc
Listener

We just hosted a Zoom meeting with about 50 participants who had all pre-registered

 

Out of those 50, about 12-15 completely different participants showed up with the very same name.

We double-checked with the lady (whom we know very well and trust):
- she did not share her link

- she did not sign in a dozen or so times

 

Ashampoo_Snap_2022.06.22_10h15m07s_001_ (2).png

Any idea what might have happened?
Thanks!

1 REPLY 1

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Absolutely! Someone shared a Join link!!  I know people say they didn’t share the link – but whenever I see this and investigate closely, that’s what has happened: someone sent a link they thought was to register, but turns out to have been their own Join link. 

 

The link provided by Zoom on completion of registration is tied to the individual who registered. The only way I know to get around the situation you experienced is to also require Authentication. This will require each user to sign into their account before joining. 

Ray_Harwood_0-1655903059788.jpeg

 


Ray - "Old Desert Lizard" / GoodClix.com
Please like any post that helped you; please mark solutions so others can find them!