cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to Screen Share from Zoom Mac App

ACSTITTech
Listener

I am an IT Tech and I have multiple users attempting to Share Screen using the Mac Zoom App. All users are on the latest update of MacOS Monterey (12.5) and the Zoom.us app is on the latest version as well. When the app is launched and the user selects to Share Screen, the window pops up with the Basic tab selected and the screen options show up. However none of the screen options are showing what is in the screen. They all have a white triangle with an exclamation point in the middle. If a screen is selected and the Share button is pressed, we receive a notification that says "Allow Zoom to share your screen. Open System Preferences > Security & Privacy to grant access." Yet when we click the button to Open System Preferences, the window opens and Zoom.us already has the box checked to allow screen recording. Removing and reapplying the setting does nothing. We cannot seem to get it to work in the app at all. It works via web browser, but the app itself will not share a screen. Any ideas?

8 REPLIES 8

Bort
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

Hi @ACSTITTech 

Did those users recently update the OS on their devices? Sometimes apps that already had privacy permissions before an update get stuck in a sort of limbo area, where they were grandfathered in with some privacy permissions, but the scope of the privacy permissions have changed on the new OS version, and this app has not been granted the new full scope. You might try using the following command in terminal to reset those permissions entirely: sudo tccutil reset ScreenCapture

Once that is done, restart the device and check the Screen Recording permissions again. If Zoom is no longer listed there, add it to the list and try to share screen again.