cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with terms and meetings

ursprung
Listener

I have been using Zoom for two years without understanding it and I need to ask the following:

1. is the personal meeting id what we always use to send someone so they can connect with me?
2. what is the host key and when and how do i use it?
3. is using zoom on macbook any different from iPhone? I Have meeting this week from my iphone and I am worried that connecting to my scheduled meeting with my personal meeting id will be somehow different to open. 
4. Use Personal Meeting ID for instant meetings--what is this?
5. What is the purpose of a Passcode and why do I not see this in my profile?

Thanks for any and all help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Bort
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

Hi @ursprung 

Yeah, that's the trick with instant meetings. Since its a random ID generated when the meeting starts, you would need to invite a contact or copy/share the invite through email or message during the live session, which can be a struggle. 

If you just need to always start your PMI, enabling this would be the best option, as you can share your PMI link ahead of time and clicking the Start button will get you right into that meeting every time. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Bort

Hi @ursprung 

1. If you only want to use and remember one meeting, then using your PMI is the best route. You might use a different meeting besides your PMI, if you ever want to schedule a different meeting with a different meeting ID, maybe for a personal meeting with family that no one else should be able to access. 
  2. Your host key is like a secret passcode that allows you to be recognized as the host in the meeting. This is useful in situations when you are not logged in to your account, which is how Zoom would normally recognize you as the official host.