cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HOSTING NEWBIE: WHERE DO HOSTS USUALLY HAVE THE SCRIPT THEY ARE READING? AND...TIPS ON HOW TO LOOK

NicoleG
Listener

HELLO.

I WOULD LIKE TO REFER TO MY SCRIPT WHEN I HOST; MY QUESTION IS- HOW DO I BALANCE LOOKKING INTO THE CAMERA ON MY LAPTOP WHILE OCCASSIONALLY REFERRING TO MY SCRIPT?

IS THERE A FUNCTION THAT I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THAT WILL ROLL MY SCRIPT ALONG THE TOP OF MY SCREEN?

TIPS ON HOW TO LOOK LIKE I AM LOOKING AT PARTICAPNTS, i.e. tips on exactly where to look on my laptop qould be GREATLY appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

TheMysticReader
Listener

Nicole, I cannot answer all of your questions but here are a few things I have used.

NOTE I AM A LOW TECH PERSON and also could no justify big expenditures at my level of Zoom use for now:
1) Just as an aside: Most important to make sure that you are well lit. This is not expensive to do, See youtube for suggestions.  Also consider using the "enhance me" feature on Zoom (sorry I have forgotten the name of that option.) It softens the focus by degrees.

2) Yes! Look into your laptop camera lens AMAP.  I have taped a hand drawing of two eyes next to my laptop lens to remind me to look into the camera (meaning as if into the eyes of my audience.) It works!

3) For one off, cheap note checking...without buying a Teleprompter... some choices to try:
a) Be honest and tell the audience that you have notes to refer to -- don't try to pretend you are not checking notes because then you just look shifty eyed and guilty and you do not take the proper time needed to read your own prompts confidently.

b) Write out your script or high points on a large white board or flip chart and place it strategically behind your computer/camera where you can take quick glances for reminders of what you want to say without glancing to far off lens.  Record samples and find the least distracting placement relative to your eye movements,