cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dual Monitors Issue

RhodyRich
Listener

I have been using Zoom for many months using by Windows 10 laptop and an external monitor with an HDMI connection. I have the "Use dual monitors" option setting checked in Zoom. When I share my presentation slides, the slides appear on my laptop and I can see the attendees on the external monitor. Works great!

Yesterday, I needed to do the same at a different location. Same laptop with the same settings, but instead of an external monitor, I connected a Smart TV. Now, when I share my presentation slides, the "Use dual monitors" option does not work. What I see on my laptop is the same as what I see on the smart TV. The only way I could make this work was to extend my laptop screen onto the Smart TV, and then manipulate the two screens to simulate what worked automatically with the external monitor. Doable, but not acceptable. What changes should I make so the connection with the Smart TV will work the same way it does with a dumb external monitor?

10 REPLIES 10

Rupert
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi @RhodyRich 

Are you connecting to your Smart TV over an HDMI connection - or wireless?

Regardless, before starting Zoom, but with your Smart TV connected, you will want to check in your Windows (not Zoom) Display Settings and ensure you have Extend Displays selected under multiple displays.

Then ensure Zoom is closed - including the System Tray application.  Or restart your computer.

Then re-open Zoom and go to your Zoom settings. You should now see the Use Dual Monitors option - and you should be able to select it.

Hope this helps.

Rupert

RhodyRich
Listener