cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropping off meetings with one particular group

Phillipson70
Listener

I've been using Zoom meetings for almost 3 years without problems.  Recently I have begun hosting regular meetings with a new group of clients. In each of our 3 meetings I have lost my connection to the internet (though the router light suggests that the internet is still on). This may be a coincidence (I'm considering a dedicated access point),  but it has only ever happened with this group. Is there a possible explanation?

2 REPLIES 2

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hey, @Phillipson70 --

Internet connectivity issues are hard to diagnose and troubleshoot -- that's probably no news to you. 🤓

It's certainly possible - but I'd say unlikely - that "who you're Zooming with" can affect your Internet connectivity.  I'll drop a few points here to ponder, based on my experience:

• Did the Zoom window disappear, followed by the square "Joining a meeting" window, and then the Zoom window came back?  That's a clear indication that the Zoom client on your device has lost connectivity with the Zoom host system.  I'm assuming this is probably what you're experiencing.  Your router may appear to still be "connected to the Internet", when in fact most routers only indicate connectivity to the next device upstream -- often a modem with connectivity to a cable provider, satellite system, or other communication provider.  A momentary-but-significant break in any connection from your router to the Zoom host system will result in this behavior.  Unlikely -- to me -- that this particular customer connection is the issue.
  • If your Zoom session is not terminating and reconnecting, but your audio and video to and from the other client goes away and comes back, then I assume some sort of connectivity issue with the connection from their devices to the Zoom Host.