cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Distracting Chat Messages During a Meeting

joneill1027
Listener

I participate in meetings and get distracted by the back and fort Chat messages by other Participants. The Host of the meetings does not Disable the Chat feature because the majority of Participants don't want the Chat disabled. Is there any way I can turn off seeing the messages when they pop up without the Host Disabling the Chat feature used by other Participants?

2 REPLIES 2

Ray_Harwood
Community Champion | Customer
Community Champion | Customer

Hi, @joneill1027,

 

There is an option on the Chat icon's ^ menu to enable or disable the Chat Previews:

Ray_Harwood_0-1668995810770.png

Click the ^ and click the Show Chat Previews menu item to change the status from checked (enabled) to unchecked (disabled).

 


Ray - GoodClix.com / aka "Old Desert Lizard"
Please mark this post Accepted if it helped you !

Jameswalter
Participant

To enable or disable Meeting chat for all users in the account:

Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
Click the Meeting tab.
Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Meeting chat toggle to enable or disable it.
Note: If you disable Meeting chat, the Meeting chat - Direct messages and Meeting chat - Auto-save features will also be disabled.
If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
In the By default, allow participants to chat with drop-down, specify if meeting participants are allowed to chat with No one, Host and co-host only, or Everyone in the meeting. This option saves the setting as the default when the meeting is started. This setting only works properly if the host is on client version 5.7.3 and above.
(Optional) Select the Allow users to save chats from the meeting check box to enable the ability to save the chat transcript. If you enable this option, select which users can save the chats:
Host and co-hosts: Only the host and co-hosts can save the chat transcript. This option requires client version 5.7.3 or later.
Everyone: Allows anyone in the meeting to save chats, including external users.
Only users in your account: Prevents external users from saving meeting chats. This option requires client version 5.11.3 or later.
(Optional) Select the Only users in your account can chat checkbox to allow only internal users in the account to use in-meeting chat. This applies regardless of whether the meeting is hosted by a regulated user’s organization or an external organization.
Click Save.
(Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.