cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bizarre Experience - Zoom Attendees Rerouted to Another Project

NSouthern78
Listener

Hello, 

I had a very strange and disconcerting zoom experience at work a few days ago that threatened to cause internal chaos, and am at a loss to understand why or how it happened. I am wondering if anyone can provide an explanation for this -or if anybody else has experienced anything like it. If so I would be grateful. Our IT division at work is completely baffled by this.

So I"m a project coordinator on three projects for a nonprofit, each with multiple zoom legacy accounts - for the sake of this discussion, let's call them Project A, Project B, and Project C.  I've been using these accounts for many months without issues.

Project B has an old working group that hadn't met for several months. The meeting turned up on our group calendar this week - with a Google Calendar recurring event that the Project Chair instituted months ago (before I even onboarded). The zoom information in that calendar event looked odd to me - it wasn't a traditional full zoom link, with dial-ins and zoom URLs and so forth; it was a single xxx xxx xxxxx zoom code and a xxxxxx password - without any http://www or anything.

I thought, okay that's very odd. To be doubly certain that it worked, I actually placed the said zoom code in a manufactured URL, and *tested the link* to make sure it worked, the night before the meeting. I got a waiting room window that popped up (the correct one). I thought, "Okay, this is fine." And I didn't worry about it. I sent a reminder to all the group participants with the said link.

The next morning, we had three concurrent meetings: one for project C - which I had to attend - and two that happened simultaneously on Project B, set up on different Zoom legacy accounts, in different meeting rooms.