cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic Plan recording a meeting locally

Buck_LaVallee
Listener

I am a new Basic Plan Zoom user.  I have almost 40 years as an I.T. Director so I'm not a novice.  However, I have a crucial Zoom meeting in 5 days that I need to record.  I have spent the last 8 hours trying to sort through the support web pages as well as the community page.  I read a great deal of good information but some instructions appear to contradict other statements. 

Do I need to be a co-host in order to record locally and does the host have to enable this feature?   Does the host have to assign recording privileges to a user in the participant's menu?  I am also having issues trying to change the settings to record.  I have signed into Zoom Portal through the Windows client.  I have gone to the navigation menu and clicked settings.  I have clicked on the recording tab but there is no toggle to enable recording and no dialog box appears to verify any change.  Does all of this need to be set up after connecting to a meeting or can I make the recording changes prior to joining the meeting?

I was hoping to find a step by step description from beginning to end of how to set up the Zoom Windows client software, log in, configure for recording, join a meeting with appropriate pass codes etc. and have full audio and video and recording access to this one on one meeting.  This meeting is projected to go 3 hours.  How many gigs of storage should a 3 hour meeting take up?  Are there any other settings or issues of which I should be aware?

Thank you for your help in advance.

2 REPLIES 2

Bort
Community Champion | Zoom Employee
Community Champion | Zoom Employee

Hi @Buck_LaVallee 

• You do not need to be or have a co-host to record locally.
  • By default, only the meeting host can start a recording. The host can allow other participants to record locally, by granting them that permission in the Participants panel.