cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Complete newbie, wanted to record a webinar (i think) and just don't get it-

brucemc777
Listener

I was sent a link to watch my daughter on a kind of graduation ceremony from her college. I do have a basic Zoom account which i established in case i ever needed it and is active. Reading the instructions i am told to go to settings, Recording and click on Local Recording to toggle.

Two big problems: First, when i follow the link i was sent, there is no Settings icon on which to click, but strangely at the start there is an automated announcement "Recording in Progress". No idea what that tells me - if it is notification that i somehow am acquiring a recording or if it just tells me that the host is recording. I did check the directory where my settings said my recordings would be stored but that is empty.

Second: If instead i open my desktop client, and please keep in mind that if i do that, i have no idea how i would marry the desktop client to joining the broadcast (if that is the right word), though i can click on Settings, then click on Recording, clicking on "Local Recording" does absolutely nothing that i can see - no indications that i have engaged nor disengaged anything.

I'm afraid that i need the big little words with pictures version as to how to accomplish this as i don't want to mess up next time such an occasion rolls around. Can anyone direct me to such?

6 REPLIES 6

Librarycat
Participant

I am confused as to what you are trying to do? You were sent a link. You want to watch the video from that link and record in Zoom?

Yes! I wanted to record and keep a part of the ceremony-

Why do you want to use Zoom for that? Just record the screen using a myriad of things. Google "Record screen" and you'll see you have all kinds of options. Zoom would not be my choice.

brucemc777
Listener